You are here

Contact BFS

BFS Faculty Council

The BFS Faculty Council works closely with the BFS Director to provide the program's intellectual and academic leadership. The Council consists of the BFS Director and the Directors of the BFS programs in Penn's four undergraduate schools, and meets regularly to discuss program vision and set academic, admissions, instructional, and other program policies.

Prof. Peter Struck (Chair), Professor and Chair of Classical Studies, and Director of the Benjamin Franklin Scholars Program

Prof. Sue Ann Bidstrup-Allen, Associate Dean, Educational Initiatives and Assessment, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and Director of the Benjamin Franklin Scholars Program in Engineering

Prof. Karen Detlefsen, Professor of Philosophy and Education, and Director of the Integrated Studies Program in the College

Prof. Sarah Hope Kagan, Lucy Walker Honorary Term Professor of Nursing, and Director of the Benjamin Franklin Scholars Program in Nursing

Prof. Catherine M. Schrand, Celia Z. Moh Professor of Accounting, and Director of the Joseph Wharton Scholars Program in Wharton, Vice Dean Wharton Doctoral Programs


BFS Undergraduate Advisory Board

With the goal of uniting scholars from different classes and schools across Penn, the BFS Undergraduate Advisory Board was established to foster a sense of community within BFS. The board aims to facilitate interaction among scholars by organizing social and education events such as:

  • Course registration socials to learn about upcoming BFS Seminars from faculty
  • Study Hours
  • Study Breaks
  • Summer Opportunity Dinners

President: Henry Hoffman


Noah Sylvester

Eliana Salmon

Lara Balikci

Mia Fatuzzo

Claire Huffman (Abroad this semester)

Caroline Terens (Abroad this semester)

Delaney Keenan (Abroad this semester)


Have an idea for an event or initiative you'd like to lead? Drop a note in our BFS Suggestion Box